Let's set off up Linz's local mountain! An excursion to Pöstlingberg is an unforgettable experience – not only for children! Whether families visit the pilgrimage basilica, the viewing platform, the Hartlauer Photo Gallery, the zoo or the realm of fairy tales and dwarves – the Grottenbahn, they're sure to have a great time high above Linz. Or you can enjoy the breathtaking view of the city by the colourful Danube as a cosy twosome! Change your perspectives on Linz! https://www.linztourismus.at/en/leisure/discover-linz/worth-seeing/top10/adventure-world-poestlingberg/
This pilgrimage church, dedicated to the Seven Sorrows of the Virgin Mary and perched high above the roofs of the city, is the landmark of the Upper Austrian capital Linz. Just a few minutes' walk from the Pöstlingbergbahn stop, if offers a breathtaking view of Linz.
It was built in 1748 according to plans by Matthias Krinner. The church is popular for weddings because of the unique location. https://www.linztourismus.at/en/leisure/discover-linz/worth-seeing/historical-sites/churches/pilgrimage-church/
The Main Square (Hauptplatz) forms the centre of Linz. The city center offers lots of shops and culinary highlights. The whole year it is a location for versatile events.The Main Square of Linz is, with an area of roughly 13,200 m2, one of the largest urban squares in Europe since the 13th century. Thanks to the main square’s function as a market place, Linz soon experienced an economic boom.
In the center of the main square is an impressive Trinity Column located. It is 20 metres high and made of white marble. The column is a typical symbol of the baroque period and was erected in gratitude by those who had survived a variety of disasters. The column should also protect the citizens from war, fire and plague.
Many attractions of Linz are easily accessible from the main square. https://www.linztourismus.at/en/leisure/discover-linz/worth-seeing/historical-sites/main-square/
OK – Offenes Kulturhaus is complex of buildings comprises the art collection of Upper Austria, the Moviemento arthouse cinema and diverse gastronomy. The „Kulturquartier“ is, because of its exhibitions and events a popular meeting point for guests and residents of Linz.
The OK provides space for contemporary art trends in Linz. Regional and International Art- and Festivals, like the Crossing Europe Filmfestival choose the OK as their venue. The peculiarity of the OK lies in the longstanding experience in the sector of art production with a strong emphasis on artistic work.
The OK invites young artists to use the provided rooms to give vent to their creativity and realize their ideas. The OK provides infrastructure like a music- or video-studio, ateliers and a hall for events. Visitors of the OK can expect tensing group- and solo-projects, symposiums and programs for communication of art and music. Multimedia-projects and art exhibitions that capture social aspects, let art-lovers feel the pulse of the time. https://www.linztourismus.at/en/leisure/discover-linz/worth-seeing/top10/kulturquartier-und-ok-zentrum/
The largest church in Austria is situated in Linz – the New Cathedral (also called Mariendom or Maria-Empfängnis-Dom).
Beautiful glass windows decorate the cathedral, which was finished in 1924 and can accommodate 20,000 people. The sacred space is also fascinating. Mariendom is a haven of peace and an architectural masterpiece.
Enjoy the view over Linz from the spire. Or experience the captivating view of the church's interior at a height of 15 metres on a special tour of the church's accessible inner gallery. The tours are also well suited to children aged 5 and above and to families. https://www.linztourismus.at/en/leisure/discover-linz/worth-seeing/top10/mariendom/
The “Stadtmuseum”, the museum of the City of Wels, is located in the Castle of Wels. Wels Castle is an important and lively cultural center and museum complex. During the warm summer months, the Castle´s inner courtyard serves as atmospheric backdrop to a variety of folkloric events and concerts. The Castle houses important collections of local and agricultural history, as well as the Austrian Cakes´ Museum and the Museum of Expellees and was reopened after a major revamp.
Apart from the interesting collections, the Castle provides year-round special exhibitions and interpretative programs with hands-on experiences for visitors. https://www.wels.at/en/welsmarketing/tourism/culture/museums-in-wels/austria/poi/400915/castle-museum.html
The Leatherer (Ledererturm) Tower remained the only one of the four city towers, while the other three were demolished in the course of the 19th century. Today it is THE trademark of Wels. The name of the gateway through the Ledererturm, mentioned for the first time on 24 July 1326, comes from the suburb district "Unter den Lederern", “Amongst the leatherers”, (today's Fabrikstrasse and Schwimmschulgasse), where there were numerous leather workshops.
In 1610, the tower was heavily damaged during a vain attack on the town by the "Passauer Kriegsvolk" and threatened to collapse.
Through a reconstruction in the years 1616 to 1619 by the Wels master brick mason Marx Martin Spaz from Linz, the Leatherer-Tower got its present form (wedge stone of the gate with the date of the year 1618).
The nearly 38-meter-high building on an almost square floor plan consists of horizontal floors, each with a window on the east and west sides in three of its four floors. On the fourth floor is the clock tower. The gate has a row of rustic tiles, which are pointed at the arch, and the corners of the tower are emphasized by cuboids just as well. https://www.wels.at/en/welsmarketing/tourism/sightseeing/sights/austria/poi/400641/ledererturm-tower.html
The new Castle Museum exhibition was opened in 2011 by the National Heritage Institute. Museum visitors have a unique opportunity to peek into the secrets of the castle depositories relating to the most important events connected with the Rožmberk, Eggenberk and Schwarzenberg owners of the Krumlov estate. Entry to the Castle Museum exhibition is individual, without a guide but with the option to rent an audioguide. This rounded six-storied tower, surrounded by the residential palace of the Little Castle, is situated on a narrow rocky promontory towering above Latrán and the Vltava River between the Ist and IInd Courtyard of Český Krumlov Castle. The origins of this structure are partly Gothic and partly Renaissance, as is evident from the tower's external appearance. The tower as well as the Little Castle is a segment of a structure dating from the first half of the 13th century. Castle Tower The oldest part of it is the groundfloor and first floor. The origin of the second floor is around the 14th century, while the third floor is part of the Renaissance belfry. We can not eliminate the Gothic origin, however, due to the bell dated 1406. Under the architect Baldassare Maggi of Arogno, the castle was remodelled and converted from a plain Gothic palace into a Renaissance residence, and the tower was provided with an arcaded gallery at the top in 1581. In 1590 the tower was decorated with mural paintings and figural and architectural motifs by Bartoloměj Beránek - Jelínek. Castle Tower The Tower is the symbol of the town of Český Krumlov, of its history and beauty. It is "The towerest of all towers" as once characterised by Karel Čapek. The tower is publically accessible and offers a beautiful view over Krumlov and surroundings. https://www.zamek-ceskykrumlov.cz/en/visitors-information/tours/1077-castle-museum-and-castle-tower
Český Krumlov State Castle with its architectural standard, cultural tradition, and expanse ranks among the most important historic sights in the central European region. Originally Gothic castle from 13th century was enlarged in 14th century and it was rebuit in the Renaissance style in 16th century. http://www.ckrumlov.info/docs/en/atr3.xml
The Renaissance tower originally served as a watchtower and belfry. The building structure is 71.9 m tall and holds 5 bells and a clockwork. Once you conquer 225 stairs (height of 45 m) you will be rewarded with a strikingly beautiful view of České Budějovice and the surroundings. http://en.inbudejovice.cz/13_53197_black-tower-ceske-budejovice/
Taking the cruise ship from Kerms, you will end up at a charming town Melk. You can enjoy a walk around the town and admiring beautiful architecture.
Melk is an Austrian town on the River Danube, west of Vienna. It’s known for the 11th-century Melk Abbey, a vast monastery built high above the town. No tour of monasteries in Austria, or Middle Europe, for that matter, would be complete without a visit to the magnificent Melk Abbey. Abbot Berthold Dietmayr and his architects Jakob Prandtauer and Joseph Munggenast left no stone unturned in their quest from 1701 to 1736 to construct a sacred palace upon the foundations of a medieval monastery. https://www.austria.info/uk/things-to-do/cities-and-culture/architecture/melk-abbey
The history of the castle ruin which is around 150 metres long on the right bank of the Danube extends back to the 12th century. Find out why the “Rosengärtlein” (“Rose Garden”) was so feared and who the “Hounds of Kuenring” were.
The castle which is around 150 metres long was built at the start of the 12th century. It is located on a rocky outcrop at a height of approx.
300 metres above the right bank of the Danube. At the time of the Kuenrings, the castle was successfully besieged and destroyed at least twice, which is why there are still only a few foundations from this time at the so-called “Bürgl” (or “little castle”).
Special highlights are the escape-proof prison with the quaint name of “Rosengärtlein” or the chapel – a romantic place that can be still be used for weddings and christenings. https://www.ruineaggstein.at/en.html
Exiting Břežanova Street, we find ourselves on the western side of Masarykovo Square, just across from the castle gate with the Rožmberk coat-of arms. The rectangular shape of this small square comes from its former function as a marketplace, and the burgher houses were gradually built around it. The square is lined on each side with thirteen burgher houses built on extended Gothic sites with typical Renaissance and Baroque gables.
On the right hand are two buildings (no. 106 and 107) that belong to the Zlatá Hvězda Hotel. They are connected with three illusive neo-Baroque gables which give the impression of three adjacent buildings instead of two. House no. 107 has a renovated original arcade and decorated semicircular and cross vaults. http://www.visittrebon.cz/en/trebon-places-of-interest/21/
The House of Regions stands for European culture and the concept of the event hall is based on three pillars: music, dance and literature from the European regions are offered in the ballroom of the house, craft folk art in the shop of folk culture Lower Austria and culinary art from the European regions in the Gastrobetrieben Blauenstein and Weinstein. http://www.volkskulturnoe.at/wirkungsstaetten/haus-der-regionen.html
The most beautiful boulevard in the world is home not only to many of Vienna's best-known sights, such as the Imperial Palace, the Kunsthistorisches Museum and the Natural History Museum, the Vienna State Opera and Parliament. Magnificent palaces, extensive parks and important monuments also line the "display window" of the former Danube monarchy.
Vienna's Ringstrasse is 5.3 kilometers long. Long enough to provide space for numerous monumental buildings, which were built during the period of Historicism in the 1860s to 1890s. Today, the buildings that stand there – from the Vienna State Opera to the Museum of Fine Arts – are among the most important sights in the city of Vienna.
Nobles and rich citizens hurried to build pompous palaces along this magnificent boulevard. Many of these former private homes can still be admired today (mostly, however, only from the outside). The style in which the buildings were built went down in history as the Ringstrasse style (a type of Historicism). It is marked by a pluralism of styles: numerous architectural forms of previous epochs were imitated. https://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/ringstrasse
1236 received the Dominicans of Duke Leopold VI. the order to set up a branch in Krems an der Donau. At about the same time, the Minorites were called to Stein. As early as 1240, the construction of a church was begun , which was vaulted around 1265. It was then built outside the city walls, the so-called Predigertor led through the city wall to Passauerhof with the Ursula chapel.
The chancel of the church dates back to 1330. The impressive sacred space was initially painted colorful, well-preserved remains of which can still be seen today.
The monastery and the church were one of the largest and most representative meeting rooms in the country at the time of construction , serving as a meeting place for the regional parliaments and for meetings of the handicraft mints of the region. The monastery itself was built in the Baroque style and the Gothic cloister was overgrown. A partial reconstruction in the eastern area of the courtyard refers to the disappearance of the gothic colonnade of the complex. http://www.museumkrems.at/Dominikanerkirche.htm
This Roman Catholic church is the oldest in Krems and was constructed around 1284.
The late-Gothic hall church is stylistically related to the Vienna Dombauhütte and is therefore also referred to as the "little sister" of St. Stephen's Cathedral in Vienna. Inside, the steep Gothic church with its profiled pillars, services, capitals and many other craftsmanship highlights of Gothic architecture impresses. The baroque high altar was built according to plans by Joseph Maria Götz . The altarpiece is by Martin Johann Schmidt , it is called 1756 and shows the Assumption of Mary.
The watchtower, which was built in the east, has been owned by the city since 1616. It was the seat of the city turret and was inhabited until a few decades ago. Opposite the church portal leads the 2004 completely renovated covered Piaristenstiege to Pfarrplatz. https://www.donau.com/en/wachau-nibelungengau-kremstal/outings-activities/excursion-destinations/abbeys-monasteries-churches/abbeys-monasteries-churches/piaristenkirche-krems/119544fc3f5455620aebd86fb028d324/
Krems is one of the oldest cities in the land; the first documented reference to it dates to 995. Visitors to the city encounter a millenium of history at every step - on the streets and squares, in old monasteries and churches, in burgher houses and fortification structures.
A stroll through Krems and Stein is always a rewarding experience - and a pleasurable one, with all the cafes, restaurants and heurige bidding passers-by to stop in and enjoy. http://www.krems.gv.at/City_Walking_Tour_through_the_Historical_Center_of_Krems
The Göttweig Abbey is a treasure overlooking the Wachau from a hill covered by vineyards and forests. Often called the “Austrian Montecassino” because it is visible from great distances—a characteristic that provides epic panoramas when you visit.
Göttweig Abbey was founded in 1083—although the current baroque building was constructed after a fire in the early 18th century. If you visit the abbey today you'll experience High Baroque in all its splendour. For example, the monumental imperial staircase with the ceiling fresco by Paul Troger from 1739 is one of the largest and most beautiful staircases of its kind in the world.
The library and the archives of Göttweig Abbey house a huge trove of visual art and a comprehensive music collection. The abbey shows its art collections during special annual exhibitions staged in the adjoining royal and imperial rooms. The church houses the largest chimes of any church in Austria. To the south you'll find the highest elevated orchard of the famous Wachau apricot, with information on various aspects of the Wachau apricot. https://visitworldheritage.com/en/eu/gttweig-abbey-the-austrian-montecassino/176bf525-ebbe-4cc3-a4db-989158b4c760
The only Art Nouveau synagogue in Lower Austria. Rich painting in ornamental forms of the Wiener Werkstätte.
Built in 1913 according to the plans of the architects Theodor Schreier and Viktor Postelberg, the synagogue was badly damaged in the Kristallnacht (9th / 9th November 1938). After 1945, the building was returned to the IKG Vienna - an IKG St. Pölten no longer existed. The once thriving Jewish community life in St. Pölten was completely destroyed, only a few survivors returned to St. Pölten.
Since 1988, the Kantorhaus houses the Institute for Jewish History in Austria, which uses the synagogue room for events.Today, the former synagogue is a memorial site that commemorates a living Jewish community before 1938 and its destruction by the Nazis. https://www.stpoeltentourismus.at/ehemalige-synagoge
Mirabell Palace was built in 1606 by prince-archbishop Wolf Dietrich for his beloved Salome Alt. Today, it serves as the backdrop for the most romantic weddings you could possibly imagine.
Mirabell Palace looks back on a colorful history. Today, Mirabell Palace is home to municipal offices as well as those of the mayor of Salzburg. Mirabell Gardens – Baroque pleasure gardens in the heart of the city. They were completely redesigned under archbishop Johann Ernst von Thun in 1690. The underlying geometric form, which is typical for the Baroque, is still clearly recognizable. The visual orientation towards the cathedral and fortress adds to the grandeur of the gardens – simultaneously incorporating them into the overall historical ensemble of the city.
Mirabell Gardens, along with the Felsenreitschule and Nonnberg Convent, is one of the most important shooting locations from the famous Hollywood musical “The Sound of Music”. In the film, Maria and the children dance around the Pegasus Fountain in front of the palace, singing the song “Do Re Mi”. At the end of the scene, the Trapp family stand on the steps in front of the Rose Hill and sing the song’s final bars. At the same time, viewers are enchanted by unique views across Mirabell Gardens towards the fortress. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/mirabell-palace-gardens
The DomQuartier is a unique cultural highlight in the heart of Salzburg City. In the magnificent state rooms, history comes alive, while a museum tour also allows you to enjoy imposing views of the city itself.
The architectural complex we know today as the DomQuartier comprises the Cathedral and the Residenz – once the center of the prince-archbishops’ power – along with Benedictine St. Peter’s Abbey. With a single entrance ticket, visitors have the opportunity to marvel at five different Salzburg museums. The historical rooms of the DomQuartier also house various collections focused especially on the Baroque history of the city.
The starting point for your tour of the DomQuartier are the baroque state rooms of the Alte Residenz. Strolling through the Residenz Gallery, you will pass through the Cathedral Museum and then into the museum of St. Peter’s. The Salzburg Museum’s Rossacher Collection of Baroque art in the northern oratories serves as the final stop on the tour. Yet another unique highlight: The tour also treats visitors to imposing views and a new appreciation for the historical district as well as the city mountains. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/domquartier-salzburg
Hohensalzburg Fortress is enthroned on the Festungsberg, high above the rooftops of the Baroque historical district. The biggest fully preserved castle in Central Europe, this emblem of Salzburg draws millions of tourists to our “City of Mozart” every year.
In the year 1077, archbishop Gebhard had the fortress built and thus changed the Salzburg skyline forever. In the years which followed, his successors drove ongoing development of the fortress architecture. The complex acquired the appearance we recognize today under archbishop Leonhard von Keutschach in 1500. The original purpose of the fortress was to protect the principality and the archbishops from hostile attacks. In all of these years, it has never been captured by foreign troops. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/hohensalzburg-fortress
The Getreidegasse is the bustling heart of Salzburg’s Old City, its unmistakable charm as well as Mozart’s Birthplace making it an irresistible destination for countless visitors from around the world. Aside from an array of international fashion chains, the Getreidegasse also charms passers-by with its traditional inns and unique businesses steeped in history.
Through-houses are very typical of the Salzburg historical district. The front and back of the buildings let directly out onto different streets, with an arcaded passageway connecting the two. Today, they often also feature artworks, art galleries and shops. The most famous of these is at the Schatz House, leading from No. 3 Getreidegasse to University Square. There, in a dark corner, you will encounter a poignant relief depicting the Madonna with the infant Jesus. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/getreidegasse
For more than 400 years, Hellbrunn Palace has enchanted and amazed its visitors with its trick fountains. A unique experience with all kinds of surprises in store!
The idyllic location in the south of Salzburg was ideal in many regards: Hellbrunn Mountain is a naturally abundant source of water, which inevitably became a central design feature of the palace grounds. The centerpiece is provided by Mannerist trick fountains that are absolutely unique. From a mechanical theater to water-spewing stags, to a crown dancing atop a spout of water - the many-and-varied hydraulic attractions never fail to captivate visitors with their originality and astonishing effects.
The spacious parks and gardens of Hellbrunn Palace are partially landscaped, partially natural biotope. They are a marvelous place to unwind, take a walk and enjoy a bit of outdoor sport. Children will immediately be drawn to the big adventure playground. And in winter, too, Hellbrunn is always well worth a visit: During the run-up to Christmas, the palace courtyard and the old driveway are transformed into a festive Advent market. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/top10/hellbrunn-palace-trick-fountains
900-year-old Hohenwerfen Castle stands amid extraordinary countryside. A former defensive bastion, it is enthroned high above the Salzach River Valley, offering exciting experiences for visitors in search of adventure and culture.
Hohenwerfen Castle promises a unique adventure, and it delivers! Aside from guided tours of the castle, including its exhibition of ancient weapons, a stylish castle tavern and the Knights’ Store, it is the historic State Falconer’s, with its daily falconry shows, that is an absolute magnet for visitors. The first Austrian Museum of Falconry, including a bird-of-prey theme path, is likewise located up at the castle. https://www.salzburg.info/en/sights/excursions/hohenwerfen-fortress
The Tulln parish church is around 1,000 years old and was among the early parish churches to be established by the Babenbergs. The charter from Emperor Heinrich II dates back to 1014.
The church combines multiple architectural styles. An Ottonian Romanesque core is juxtaposed with a Gothic chancel and Baroque towers and a Baroque interior. Of particular historical note is the Romanesque west portal, known as the Apostles’ Gate. The marble altar and the magnificent choir stalls are also features of the church that visitors will not want to miss.
The two towers are signs of the church visible from far and wide. They have an interesting story. The south tower belongs to the parish whereas the north one is owned by the city of Tulln. In earlier times, the tower watchman had his lookout and abode in the city tower. His job was to ring the bells to warn citizens if a fire broke out within city limits. http://erleben.tulln.at/en/art/major-sights/parish-church/
Castle was built in the first half of the 14th century. In the 1570s Zacharias of Hradec carried out a major reconstruction and ordered two enclosures for deer nearby. From 17th century to beginning of the 20th century it was used as a hunting castle. http://www.telc.eu/tourist_attractions/rostejn_castle
Anything but antiquated, this impressive castle towers over the Mur river valley. This extraordinary event centre, located close to the river Mur cycle route, is open all year and accessible to the public from April to October on. Access to the castle by means of the Atlantis-Shuttle is a unique experience, offering fantastic views of the surroundings. A state-of-the-art energy supply system in the form of a heat pump highlights the successful marriage of history and modern technology. https://www.graztourismus.at/en/see-and-do/sightseeing/trips-around-graz/burg-rabenstein_af-5072
Originally a water keep, converted in the 16th century into a Renaissance chateau. A renaissance garden, a herb garden, and an English park surround the buildings. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/breznice-chateau/
Enjoy a degustation session of quality wine in the cool cellars of the monastery in Louka, where the largest producer of wine in the Czech Republic, the joint stock company Znovín Znojmo, is currently located. http://www.czechtourism.com/c/louka-monastery/
The former summer residence of the Habsburgs impresses with imperial ceremonial rooms and magnificent gardens. Maria Theresa, Emperor Franz Joseph, Empress Elisabeth and others once resided here.
Schönbrunn Palace is one of Europe's most beautiful Baroque complexes and has been in the possession of the Habsburgs since 1569. The wife of Emperor Ferdinand II, Eleonore von Gonzaga, had a pleasure palace built on the site in 1642 and called the property "Schönbrunn" for the first time. The palace and garden complex created from 1696 onwards following the siege of Vienna was complete redesigned under Maria Theresa after 1743. Today, due to its historical significance, its unique layout and magnificent furnishings, the palace is a UNESCO World Heritage site. https://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/sights/imperial/schoenbrunn-palace
Vienna's Imperial Palace is one of the biggest palace complexes in the world. The oldest parts date to the 13th century, with construction having continued right into the 20th century. The Imperial Palace was the residence and seat of government of the Habsburg emperors until 1918. Today, it is home to numerous museums with outstanding collections, the Spanish Riding School, a congress center, the seat of the Austrian Federal President as well as the historic Heldenplatz. https://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/sights/imperial/hofburg-vienna
The Vienna State Opera is one of the top opera addresses in the world – where you can enjoy the very best in first-class productions. This famous stage offers a different program every day, with over 50 operas and ballet works on around 300 days per season.
At the Vienna Opera Ball, the Vienna State Opera is transformed into the world’s most famous ballroom. The committee, consisting of approximately 150 pairs of young men and women in white ball gowns and tails, ensures a glamorous opening of the Opera Ball. https://www.wien.info/en/music-stage-shows/opera-operetta/state-opera
Column in honour of the Holy Trinity and the crowned queen of heavens, Mary. The Plague Column was erected in 1713 by order of the "Royal Town of Eisenstadt". It was meant to serve as plea to God to free the city from the plague.
On the pedestal there are representations of Saint Rochus, Sebastian, Kajetan, John of Nepomuk and Saint Rosalie. Right above them is a cartouche featuring the coat of arms of the city.
At the feet of Saint Francis there is a plaque with rolled up ends on both sides. On the slender, Corinthian column wrapped with bay leave twigs there are: God the Father and Jesus, as well as the coronation of Mary, above them all hovers the Holy Spirit. https://eisenstadt-leithaland.at/plague-column.html
St. Stephen's Cathedral is the symbol of Vienna. Construction commenced in the 12th century. Today, it is one of the most important Gothic structures in Austria. St. Stephen's Cathedral is 107.2 meters long and 34.2 meters wide. It has four towers. The tallest of these is the south tower at 136.44 meters. The tower room, from which there is a gigantic view across Vienna, is reached via 343 steps. A total of 13 bells hang here. However, the best-known bell of St. Stephen's Cathedral, the Pummerin, is located in the 68.3 meter-tall north tower. It is the second-biggest free-swinging chimed church bell in Europe. On the roof of St. Stephen's Cathedral, colorful roof tiles were laid to create the Royal and Imperial double-headed eagle and the coat of arms of the city of Vienna. The interior of St. Stephen's Cathedral was changed again and again over the centuries, right through to the Baroque period. https://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/sights/st-stephens-cathedral